News: April 2017

April is the first month of a new year for the club and one in which the Annual General Meeting (AGM) is held. Reports on the Club’s activities over the previous year are presented, together with a financial statement by the retiring Treasurer who advised that the club is in a healthy financial position.

The AGM is also when all officers stand down and a new President and Vice President are elected together with a new Committee. David Slack was elected President together with Ken Jones as his Vice President. Brian Chamberlain was re-elected as Secretary, Max Higgs as Treasurer until a replacement can be found as Max wishes to retire. Tony Harrison was re-elected as Speakers Secretary, as was Bob Mynett as Almoner and David Carr as Social Secretary. Chris Furness and Ray Lowe joined the Committee.

The new President thanked his predecessor, Howard Yates for presiding over the Club’s affairs for the past two years and was supported in this by all members.

The AGM was then followed by a regular monthly meeting. There was no speaker at this meeting.